The World According to kcillini77

September 25, 2008

Here’s what I’m thinking about today (or, I’m posting something so you know I’m still here).

Filed under: America,Christianity,Sports — kcillini77 @ 8:32 pm
Tags: , ,

I was listening to sports radio on my way home from work tonight and some caller started talking about being a man of faith.  Something along the lines of, “I’m a man of faith – I play baseball at a Christian college, and just because people of faith aren’t into doing things other people are into doesn’t mean we can’t be competitive.”

I had just turned on the radio so I heard this out of context with whatever prompted the call.  But I found myself thinking less about his overall point than his contention that people of faith aren’t into what “other” people are into.  Why do we have to keep drawing lines in the sand between us and them?  Why is the mark of a Christian that we’re not doing some particular sin?

As I understand the gospel, the difference between a Christ follower and the “other” people in this world is that we have recognized our frailty, our rebellion against our creator, and our utter helplessness to conquer sin on our own.  We’ve accepted forgiveness.  That’s it.  Have I missed something?

2 Comments »

  1. It would be interesting to see what they were talking about and what that guy was referring to. But I agree, I think Christians have “set themselves apart” in the wrong ways, making it an “us and them” situation (and I really don’t like using the term “other” people. It sounds very degrading). I mean, we should be different because of those things you mentioned (recognizing our frailty and imperfection in the presence of pure perfection and love, our rebellion, etc) and because of that recognition i want people to see I’m different by the things I DO do and not by the things I don’t do. (I know I said do do 🙂 Like having joy in the face of tragedy, loving people even when I’m not loved, and not relying on other things and people to make me whole and complete but being fully satisfied in the person that God has made me. These are just a few examples, and all things like this that are going to be recognized by “others” will happen by having relationships, which is the basis for changing lives anyway. Just by saying “we don’t do” certain things isn’t going to change any lives.
    And we should never think that we are better than anyone else because we don’t have a particular sin, we all have a bunch, but that will start a whole new discussion.

    Comment by Erin — September 26, 2008 @ 4:09 pm | Reply

  2. Why did you link show up in out logs? Please make sure statcounter is configured correctly.

    On Fri Dec 16 2011 5:57:07 am EST, 201.200.221.114 tried to load :

    /2008/09/25/heres-what-im-thinking-about-today-or-im-posting-something-so-you-know-im-still-here/

    User Agent = Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; MSIE 5.5; Windows NT 4.0) Opera 7.0 [en]

    /2008/09/25/heres-what-im-thinking-about-today-or-im-posting-something-so-you-know-im-still-here/

    Comment by 411 NY — December 16, 2011 @ 4:03 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

