The World According to kcillini77

September 13, 2008

I’m a Christian – Let’s do Business!

Filed under: America,Christianity,Church — kcillini77 @ 5:27 pm
Tags: , ,

Yesterday, I got an email from someone I don’t know.  Of course this happens all the time, but the subject caught my eye enough to open it:  “Buying a car? Support a local Christian car salesman!”  Judging by the other addresses on distribution, this is either someone who goes to our church or found some other way of getting email addresses of multiple people at our church.  Here’s the text of the email message, with personally identifying information removed to protect the guilty (and innocent family members).

[Link removed] is the home of car salesman John Doe. John is a former full-time youth pastor. After an unexpected change, John is selling cars. He is happily married to Jane and is the father of three children – John Junior, Jack, and Jill – with one on the way in May!

If you or a friend is purchasing a new or used vehicle, please give me a call. I strive to display the love of Christ even in a car dealership! If you are looking for a fair, honest, and hassle-free environment, please contact me!

John Doe – 555-555-555

This email instantly angered me.  I mean, royally pissed me off. Not because it was junkmail, but because this person was using Christ as a direct marketing ploy (I realize one could claim many or most churches do this too, but that’s another topic for another day).

My first exposure to this kind of use of Christ was the “Shepherd’s Guide”, a relatively innocuous looking phone book that was (and still is) available at Christian bookstores for free.  I remember having a copy of it in our house growing up, and I didn’t really think much of it.  But over time, the more I have seen Jesus fishes and crosses on service vans and business ads, the more the practice has bugged me.  What is supposed to be the benefit of choosing a business that claims Christianity in their advertising?  A salesman who will give you a fair price and won’t screw you over?  Giving your money to someone who is more likely to tithe a portion of it to a church?  And how does management make sure all of the company’s representatives are full of the same charitable Christianity that they are advertising?  These have all been questions I’ve had, but the anger has never overcome me until I got that email last night.

Chick-Fil-A is run by a Christian businessman and his policies and life bear that out.  But they advertise with funny cows saying “Eat more Chikin”, not with crosses and fish.  The guy who replaced my furnace last winter was a very honest man who inspired conversation, and I came to find out that he was a Christ follower in the course of talking to him.  But there’s no mention of that on his website or his vans.

Be honest, treat your employees or employer well, and be fair.  Seize appropriate opportunities to share your love of Christ in the workplace when they present themselves.  But don’t use your Christianity to bring other Christians to you.  When you do, you are just using the name of Christ for money, and I’m pretty sure He’s not a big fan of that.

2 Comments »

  1. You just might like this…

    Comment by Tex — September 15, 2008 @ 9:10 am | Reply

  2. Um, yeah. I agree. So I can’t remember exactly what my post was about but I said something similar…I think it was about that one time some people came to us and said they only wanted to sponsor a kid that was a Christian and then I wrote about it and said “sometimes I really hate Christians”….bla bla. Somebody else then told me to my face that they stopped reading my blog because I offended them when I said “hate” Yup. Good times. This crap makes my head spin.

    Comment by kristiapplesauce — September 25, 2008 @ 5:07 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

